Click Here For Mobile Version
Bucks In The Mayflower,
425 W. Ormsby Louisville,
KY 40203
Ph: (502) 637-5284
Fax: (502) 637-7883


Working Hours:
Lunch times are Monday through Friday from 11am to 3pm.

Dinner times are Monday through Thursday from 5pm to 10pm,

Friday & Saturday 5pm to 11pm.
 
Profession Reviews:
Visitors' Reviews:

“Great Find In Old Louisville”
December 21, 2013 - Truly a great find in the old Louisville section of town, It is in the Mayflower Hotel and brings back memories of elegant, leisurely old time dining with live piano background music. It is a blast from the past. It is like out of a 50's and 60's movie and quite similar to the better more elegant European restaurants of today and yesterday.

The food is truly among the best in town and we should know as we eat out about 3 or more night a week and have frequented all the top rated places in town over time. I rate it at 2 Michelin Stars or over 4 AAA stars.

I am a beef guy and their filet done "Pittsburg Style" is one of the best that I have had in quite a while. Great appetizers, like the crab cakes and my wife likes the scallops. Salads are huge and quite different. They feature a good variety of meat and sea food entries. Very good wine selection as well.

Now that we found it , we will add it to our list of our regular places to eat at for up scale dining

“Bucking the Trend!”
November 3, 2013 - This is a restaurant that never made it out of the 1950s/1960s. Buck's is a lovely establishment in the part of Louisville called Old Louisville, a district of Victorian and Edwardian mansions. It's in the middle of a older residential area-it is a must for someone looking for an amazing meal. The restaurant is tucked away on Ormsby in old Louisville in the Mayflower hotel. They have a parking lot which is very helpful with cars parking up and down the street. The restaurant's proximity to the Filson Historical Society, with its exceptional art collection, is another plus.

They have beautiful fresh white flowers with dark walls and a grand piano. The staff makes you feel as if you are a member of the family from the first moment you step inside. Upon entry you will realize that the management cares about china, glasses and table cloths (shocking in 2013).

They have an excellent pianist at night. They have a great adult beverage selection, extensive wine and bourbon list. Service was very good and the food was flavorful. Great appetizers and deserts and just a very relaxed atmosphere. Will definitely return!

Article in USA TODAY October 11th 2013 issue:

Sip your way though Kentucky's Urban Bourbon Trail It's impossible to visit them all, but here are a few of the most celebrated establishments, ones that offer real insight into Kentucky's bourbon... heritage.

At Buck's in Louisville, Ky., the bar is always adorned with fresh, white flowers. It's impossible to visit them all, but here are a few of the most celebrated establishments, ones that offer real insight into Kentucky's bourbon heritage.

Buck's Restaurant and Bar

If you're serious about getting six stamps on your passport, don't start at Buck's Restaurant and Bar in the Old Louisville historic district. Once you settled in at the bar, it's hard to leave.

You may think you will only have one drink, perhaps a shot of your favorite single-barrel bourbon, but like so many before you, you will be seduced by the ubiquitous white bouquets of flowers and the soft jazz music trilling from the piano. When the bartender asks if you will have another, you will.

After a while, you will inquire about that delightful aroma wafting from the kitchen, and before you know it, you are being escorted by a smiling hostess from bar to table, something you never intended. Soon, you are feasting on delicious country-fried quail stuffed with sausage dressing and bathed in bourbon peppercorn gravy.

Something far in the back of your mind nudges you to move along to your next stop, but when the server suggests delicate Mocha Dacquoise for dessert, how can you turn it down? She pours coffee.

Next thing you know, you are sipping an after-dinner drink — bourbon, of course. You sheepishly glance at your watch. Has it really been three hours since that first drink?

No, don't even think of starting your bourbon odyssey at Buck's.


January 13, 2003 - A Valentine's Day, special occasion must go. Top drawer in every respect from the ambiance, service and food, highly recommended.

July 18, 2002 - You not only get great service and food, but you will get to take a beautiful flower home, highly recommended.

December 4, 2001 - You can't beat the atmosphere created by the live piano jazz, the abundant fresh flowers, the comfortable lighting and the relaxed attitudes. Entrees are consistently excellent, the bar is tops, and the escorted trip to the dessert bar is a must. And the cigar room is definitely worth a visit.

September 10, 2000 - This is my favorite restaurant in Louisville. It is a perfect place for an intimate dining experience. I especially enjoy the live piano music, the beautiful fresh flowers, the mismatched china (very chic). If that isn't enough, the food is teriffic too! I really like the pecan crusted trout. This is why I enjoy fine dining...it's not just a meal it is an experience!

January 29, 2000 - For that special occasion or important business dinner! Buck's is a little known wonder in Louisville. Service, Food, and atmosphere rank with any private club in our city.